Angie from Sally

Thu Mar 28 20:07:18 2002

Angie, I'm sorry you have to make all these decisions, but you seem to have some time which is good. I'm not a doctor, nor can I give medical advice. I'm only a fellow adhesions sufferer. I hope you have gone to the adhesions site http://www.adhesions.org and read the stories on the quilt plus the archives and back emails, expecially from Helen Dynda. She has a way of finding just the information you need. And some people have adhesions and suffer no pain. Nobody knows why.

And to answer your question about what I was taking before oxycontin, I was on pain patches (still am) and roxicodone which makes me very sleepy and doesn't cut through the pain. I also spent a great deal of time thinking of ways to do myself in. It's true, I'm not going to hide it. Obviously, I've got a strong will to live and my husband laughs at me whenever I mention something like that cause I'm such a bad back seat driver he can't imagine any one suicidal who would care so much about how he drvies. And he's right, I want to live. I just don't want to be in agony 24 hours a day seven days a week.

I've managed to function because I own an Inn and have help plus a husband whom I'm always complaining about but who looks like a Greek God and actually gives me a lot of support. He just has a big mouth.

I don't know what to tell you, but I do know that your choices are not either " it comes out or I live on pain meds the rest of my life". It's not that simple at all.