Re: what a painful time

Mon Apr 8 10:30:13 2002

Hello Dawn,

I am sorry that I haven't had the opportunity to send you a message before now... I have been in hospital for the last four weeks after collapsing in the foyer of the hospital after an outpatients visit!

I am sorry that you seem to be having such a bad time of it a the moment, unfortunately because I am so far behind on reading the messages on the board I am unfamiliar with your story, but I just wanted to say hello, and let you know that you are in my thoughts and prayers.

I have been visiting this site for 14 months now and have made some very valuable friendships and learned so much about adhesions, how people deal with pain, the problems adhesions sufferers have in finding medical staff who will believe that there is real pain involved and not something manifested in our heads.

I try to have a very positive approach to pain and adhesions. That isn't always easy, and right now I am finding it hard to cope myself. I have had some very difficult and traumatic surgeries in the past and while I have the greatest confidence in my medical team, I cannot seem to control my inner fear of surgery itself, because once I am asleep, the doctor has total control over my treatment and my life.