Adhesions after colectomy. (Please help)!

Sat Sep 4 20:06:24 2010

From: adhesions@adhesions.org [mailto:adhesions@adhesions.org] On Behalf Of katelyn opalenik Sent: Sunday, August 29, 2010 8:29 PM To: adhesions-request@adhesions.org Subject: Re: Adhesions after colectomy. (Please help)!

I have also had a colectomy, and yes, i also had 2 small bowel obstructions occur, due to adhesions. A ct scan, and or barium enema is the normal thing they due to rule out obstructions. I always had a few months of pain before anything showed up, and i was in the hospital. Good thing is, u are pursuing this, and get the scan just to be sure. Vomiting it a sure sign of one, or in my case, u end of laying on the floor screaming. Obstuctions are scary, im always told to check for fever, and if pain wakes u up, or any vomiting at all, those are the warning signs. I am a ten year veteran at this!  Hope this helps, and good luck. Michele

On Sun, Aug 29, 2010 at 2:01 AM, IAS Admin (Tracy) <tracy.joslin@adhesions.org> wrote: From: violetsurge@hotmail.com (Tiggy) Subject: Adhesions after colectomy. (Please help)!

To make a long story short, yesterday my husband was sent home from his work because he was having a dull, niggling pain that was focused in his lower back on one side, just above the hip bone.  The discomfort was also in the front of his body, to a lesser degree.  We were worried it might be kidney related (he has a history of kidney stones), so he ended up in the ER because our primary physician wasn't available.  After many blood tests, urine samples, and abdominal x-rays, it was determined that there was "nothing wrong with him." The ER doctor seemed competant, and she assured us that all emergency conditions had been ruled out.  We enquired about possible obstructions, kidney stones, hernias, etc, and she said that there was no indication that any of those issues were apparent.