Re: Laparoscopy/Opinions

Wed May 1 02:24:49 2002

Shanna, I think its great that you are asking questions before doing anything. I am going to give you my opinion...please know that I am not a medical doctor and it is only my opinion. You say that you had surgery three years ago for adhesions. You began to have problems immediately after the surgey. I suggest to you that the adhesions reformed immediately after your surgery....they reform within the first two weeks at which point no new adhesions are formed. They then only strengthen their hold on your various body parts. Almost all of us have been told we have irritable bowel...but that's just a lame diagnosis because they don't know what's going on or don't want to blame it on the adhesions. The highest percentage of adhesions are found wrapped around our bowels. They pull our bowels from one side of the abdomen to the other, wrap themselves around the bowels sometimes totally kinking the bowel off...you name it. This is why you have the symptoms that suggest irritable bowel. I often wonder if there really is such a condition or if it isn't adhesions all the time since they seem to be so prevalent. You mention wanting to have a laprascope to diagnose the adhesions. While this procedure is much better for you than a laparotomy it still causes adhesions. If you have a "good" doctor he should be able to look at x-rays or ct scans and tell whether you have adhesions. No, he cannot visualize the adhesions themselves, but he can see the bowels pulled to parts of the body that they shouldn't be, etc. I had a ct years ago and was told that they visualized adhesions. I was told I had a large mass of adhesions about the size of a softball that was severely inflamed and that they actually visualized the adhesions....I don't know that I believe that, but they were seeing something. This mass was easily palpable and the pain so extreme that I was transferred by ambulance to a hospital almost two hundred miles away. I have nev