Can a hernia surgery be done laparoscopically?

Wed Aug 7 21:39:45 2002

Dear Cathy, I am not a medical professional; but I am very concerned about your daughter's upcoming hernia surgery. Do you have the answers to the following questions?

1.) Does her surgeon plan to perform an open abdominal procedure (laparotomy) or a laparoscopy?

2.) It is very important that an adhesion barrier is applied!! Have you discussed this with her surgeon - and does he/she plan to use an adhesion barrier?

3.) If so, what is the name of the adhesion barrier?

4.) A CT-scan of her abdomen is a very important before she has surgery!! Has she had a CT-scan?

5.) Have you read Karla Nygren's Adhesions Quilt story? If not, I urge you to do so.

Adhesions form after EVERY surgery; because adhesions are the way the human body heals and protects itself. This is a completely natural and normal process!!

If the surgeon doesn't use special techniques to prevent trauma to the abdominal/pelvic cavity - and if he/she doesn't apply an adhesion barrier - it is very likely that more adhesions will form. An increase in adhesions will cause an increase pain!!

The following letter is from Dr. Jay Redan, who is a General Surgeon at Scranton, PA - who has developed techniques that reduce the trauma to the body and help to prevent the formation of adhesions. He is one of the very few surgeons in the United States, who is having success with the prevention of adhesions.

~ ~ ~ ~

>----- Original Message -----; From: Jay Redan ; To: Helen Dynda ; Sent: Thursday, July 06, 2000 10:05 PM ; Subject: Re: Can a hernia surgery be done laparoscopically?

Dear Helen, This is a controversial topic!! I used to perform all my hernia repairs laparoscopically. When I analyzed my data--as well as many of my colleagues--we agree laparoscopy is NOT the best way to repair a hernia: inguinal or incisional or ventral.