Re: It's nice not to feel alone at last

Thu May 13 07:50:47 1999

At Thu, 13 May 1999, Jo Waterman wrote: >
>Hello to everyone,
>
>I am a 26 year old adhesion sufferer of 13 years following a
>an operation for a ruptered appendix which resulted in
>abdominal abscesses and peritonitis. The pain you are all familiar with
>started shortly after, and the surgeon put it down to "nerve damage".
>
>For years, like many of you, I suffered the pain with no
>health care professional seeming to want to know about it.
>Finally, last year, my new caring GP took steps towards uncovering the
>problem and finally and with relief I was given the diagnosis of
>adhesions.
>
>I'm pretty new with this, and would appreciate a little advice. Firstly,
>my doctor suggested that surgery to lyse the adhesions may simply result
>in further adhesion. She suggested a strict diet could control it.
>Secondly, I would love to hear from anyone who has looked in to or has
>experience with the issue of adhesions and their effect on fertility as
>I am considering a family.
>
>Above all, it is just so wonderful to know I'm not alone, that there are
>others who understand what living with adhesions is like.
>
>--
>Jo

Hi Jo: