Dr. Korell from Germany responds to Beverly's message....

Wed Jun 14 02:03:23 2000

This is Beverly's most recent message from Dr. Korell of Germany. Beverly's Message to Dr. Korell appears at the end of Dr. Korell's letter.

> ----- Original Message -----

To: <bnb@cybrzn.com> Sent: Tuesday, May 30, 2000 5:39 AM

Subject: Re: adhesions

Dear Beverly Doucette,

I understand your questions and I will try to answer:

I work in the field of adhesions since now 20 years both - experimental and clinically. Enclosed you find some abstracts and publications regarding my work in adhesions. If you need any further informations or papers - please let me know.

Regarding the adhesiolysis we try to induce peritoneal defects as less as possible. Intensive rinsing and clot evacuation is standard during the whole procedure. We prefer the endoscopic approach because it leads to less recurrences. But, sometimes the adhesions are so severe that one must do a laparotomy first. Here, an early second look laparoscopy can be helpful in further reducing the adhesions.

Specially the Intergel seems to increase the chance for adhesion-free healing. As you see in the abstract we have experience and controls in myomectomy patients with good results. I have seen many patients with severe intraabdominal adhesions in the last years with a long follow up. If one can reach an adhesion-free abdominal cavity the chance for no pain is good.

Depending on the extent of adhesions there is a risk of recurrence, which leads to pain again - typically 6 weeks up to some months after a pain-free interval. Otherwise the patients have no problems for years. While the induction of adhesions by peritoneal defects is understood, the pathomechanism of pain is not so clear. I suppose that especially the fixation of bowel to the abdominal wall can cause pain. The adhesions from bowel to bowel seems to be less severe. The typical adhesions from the omentum to the peritoneum causes normally no problem.